Advertisement
This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
OK
#Open journalism No news is bad news

Your contributions will help us continue to deliver the stories that are important to you

Support The Journal
Dublin: 10 °C Sunday 7 June, 2020

#Tech

# tech - Sunday 12 April, 2015

# tech - Tuesday 24 March, 2015

Tech firm DocuSign to create 100 jobs in Dublin

The company helps organisations by automating their paper-based processes.

# tech - Thursday 12 March, 2015

Looking for a job? 70 have just been announced in Dublin

LexisNexis has big plans.

# tech - Friday 13 February, 2015

More details are emerging of Apple's plans to develop a car

The plans are gathering pace.

# tech - Sunday 18 January, 2015

These incredible works of art were all created with Apple products

Artists and photographers have been using their iPads and iPhones to create some stunning pieces.

# tech - Saturday 3 January, 2015

Take a tour of Elon Musk's $17 million Bel Air mansion

Yo, homes to Bel Air.

# tech - Friday 28 November, 2014

Most people around the world think the internet is a human right

This comes as part of a new study by the Centre for International Governance Innovation.

# tech - Tuesday 25 November, 2014

Storyful is opening a new research centre in Dublin (with 30 jobs)

The news agency will begin hiring for the roles immediately.

# tech - Wednesday 12 November, 2014

Twitter is changing... but is it for the better?

Twitter want to use your information like who you follow and what you engage with to show you more Tweets.

# tech - Saturday 8 November, 2014

Here's how homeless people in New York use technology

Many homeless people use gadgets to stay connected, search for jobs, and pursue their own creative interests.

# tech - Tuesday 4 November, 2014

Start-ups, investors and Eva Longoria – Day 1 of the Web Summit Good Crowd This post contains images

Start-ups, investors and Eva Longoria – Day 1 of the Web Summit

Dublin’s Web Summit being held in the RDS opened to huge crowds today.

Kenny: Me ringing the Nasdaq bell should encourage emigrants to come home

The Taoiseach rang the bell at the Web Summit in Dublin today.

From The Daily Edge 9 truly bonkers things that could only happen at the Web Summit Web Summit

9 truly bonkers things that could only happen at the Web Summit

From coloured sheep to “wearable tech for dogs”.

# tech - Monday 3 November, 2014

Over 100 jobs announced for Cork

OpenText, a Canadian software company will create the jobs.

# tech - Sunday 2 November, 2014

Why 2014 is the best year ever to be a teenage girl

Social media has put 13-year-old girls in a rare position of power, and they’re not afraid to use it.

# tech - Tuesday 28 October, 2014

Why is Zuckerberg so happy? Mobile ads have helped Facebook profits surge

Facebook said that it made $802 million in profit for shareholders on revenue of $3.2 billion.

# tech - Sunday 26 October, 2014

Jordan Casey is expanding his tech start-up - right after he does his Junior Cert

We spoke with the 14-year-old CEO ahead of his appearance at the Web Summit.

# tech - Tuesday 21 October, 2014

Here's everything you need to know about the launch of Apple Pay

It works in McDonalds and taxis. (But it’s not in Ireland yet).

# tech - Monday 20 October, 2014

Primary school pupils are being prepared to work in the 21st century

A survey of 300 Irish primary schools said access to high speed broadband is an obstacle.

# tech - Tuesday 14 October, 2014

Finance and tech workers getting picky about jobs as vacancies exceed candidates

Professional job seekers are becoming savvier when it comes to potential employers.

# tech - Saturday 11 October, 2014

Apple maps and 8 other times Apple got it wrong

Music subscription services? Bankrupt, sez Jobs.

# tech - Friday 3 October, 2014

Here's how Facebook is fighting fake likes

Ever heard of ‘bought likes’?

# tech - Saturday 27 September, 2014

# tech - Thursday 25 September, 2014

The Apple Watch could be ready in time for Valentine's Day

The company originally planned to release it in time for Christmas, but it ran into software development problems.

# tech - Wednesday 17 September, 2014

Would an appearance by Eva Longoria convince you to attend the Dublin Web Summit?

The actress and angel investor will be speaking at the event, which is taking place in November.

# tech - Tuesday 16 September, 2014

Column: Do you suffer from social media and internet addiction?

We live in an ‘always on’ world and because the internet is constantly accessible via mobile devices, it is very difficult to control.

# tech - Monday 15 September, 2014

From The Daily Edge Apple just started telling everyone how to delete the free U2 album Beautiful Day

# tech - Friday 12 September, 2014

Column: Four trends that will have a significant impact on every business in Ireland

Paying special attention to the shifting needs and attitudes of the new, experiential generation will pay off for all businesses, writes Renaud Visage co-founder of Eventbrite.

# tech - Wednesday 10 September, 2014

Opinion: As Apple moves further into data, it's time we start taking responsibility for our own

With Apple moving into health and fitness and quantifying our lives even further, more data about us is going to be gathered.

# tech - Tuesday 9 September, 2014

Guess how much the new iPhones will cost...

…It’s A LOT.

# tech - Sunday 31 August, 2014

Science Changes Lives: Pacemaker for a 28-year-old footballer? Yes, it saved me

Sean Prunty was diagnosed with a cardiac condition that put paid to his job as a footballer – but technology has given him a new path in life.

# tech - Wednesday 27 August, 2014

Show me the money: the reality of investment in Irish tech

Investment in indigenous tech companies has rallied during the recession – but what’s driving it?

# tech - Monday 25 August, 2014

Amazon bets big that there's a market for watching gamers play - buys Twitch for $970m

Google looked the favourites to land the deal but lost out.

# tech - Tuesday 19 August, 2014

This Irish telecoms company has landed a €125 million investment

Viatel is set to go on a spending spree after landing the cash.

# tech - Tuesday 29 July, 2014

Apple's iPhone 6 faces a big pricing problem around the world

Relatively poorer customers can’t afford it – and they’re turning to Android.

# tech - Monday 28 July, 2014

Are you using Wordpress for your SME?

Survey shows that the blogging forum has become a useful choice as CMS for smaller companies.

# tech - Thursday 24 July, 2014

There's (dubious) speculation online that the Web Summit will be bought by SXSW

‘Just rumours’ says the company.

Is a Twitter job just for the boys? Twitter says sorry but... yes.

The social media giant joins Facebook, Google, LinkedIn and Yahoo in being lambasted for hiring mostly white and Asian men.

# tech - Tuesday 22 July, 2014

Meet the tech team who make TheJournal.ie run smoothly

We’re hiring software developers!

# tech - Friday 18 July, 2014

9 tech stats you may not know about TheJournal.ie

Things can get very busy around here.