Readers like you keep news free for everyone.

More than 5,000 readers have already pitched in to keep free access to The Journal.

For the price of one cup of coffee each week you can help keep paywalls away.

Support us today
Not now
Sunday 10 December 2023 Dublin: 9°C

# Awards night

Last year
Rory Gaffney named PFAI Player of the Year, Lyons wins Young Player award
Waterford’s Phoenix Patterson’s outstanding season was reflected by the fact he was named First Division player of the year.
Josh van der Flier and Sam Monaghan voted Players of the Year by Irish-rugby peers
Connacht’s Cian Prendergast was presented with the Nevin Spence Men’s Young Player of the Year Award.
All time
Dupont named Top 14 Player of the Year after leading Toulouse to historic double
The French scrum-half succeeds Cheslin Kobe in claiming the award.
Conor Murray, Brian O'Driscoll named on curious World Rugby Team of the Decade
There is no room for any English player on the men’s team, while Jamie Heaslip’s finish against Italy in 2016 was named Try of the Decade.
The Favourite wins seven Baftas but Roma swoops in to take top gong
Irish-produced The Favourite had been nominated for 12 awards.
Earls, Furlong, Murray and Sexton up for Players' Player of the Year
James Ryan, Jacob Stockdale and Jordan Larmour have been nominated for Young Player of the Year.
Stander, Best, Henshaw and McGrath nominated for IRUPA Player of the Year
Garry Ringrose, Josh van der Flier and Stuart McCloskey are up for the Young Player of the Year award.
Sterling booed at Liverpool awards night as he picks up Young Player of the Year
The 20-year-old was heckled after winning the prize at the Echo Arena this evening.
O'Shea, Walters, Grealish and all the other nominees for the FAI Awards
Finalists for the 25th edition of the awards have been revealed today.
Roche receives 1.1m votes but loses out to Rodriguez for Fifa Puskas Award
The striker’s goal finished runner-up to the Colombian at this evening’s Ballon d’Or ceremony.
Steph Roche meets O'Neill, Keane and his beard before heading off to Ballon d'Or awards
The big names in Irish football were out for last night’s SSE Airtricity/SWAI awards night.
Cork dominate Camogie All-Stars awards night
The Rebels had nine players named in the All-Star team at Citywest last night.
Madigan scoops Player of the Year at Leinster awards ball
The talented outhalf was chosen by his fellow team-mates and named last night.
Andrews, McCarthy and Brady scoop prizes at FAI awards night
The annual ceremony was held at RTE earlier tonight.
Your host for tonight... Here are our favourite sports awards presenters
Middlesbrough-born Kay Murray heads up a list which includes Kevin Spacey, Darragh Maloney and Sue Barker.
Dockrell scoops ICC Associate and Affiliate Cricketer of the Year
The 20-year-old Irish spinner edged out a number of his team-mates to win the prize.