Advertisement
This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
OK
#Open journalism No news is bad news

Your contributions will help us continue to deliver the stories that are important to you

Support The Journal
Dublin: 13 °C Tuesday 14 July, 2020

#Aviation

# aviation - Tuesday 8 December, 2015

Air France flight diverted over bomb threat

The threat turned out to be a hoax.

# aviation - Tuesday 1 December, 2015

Ryanair is taking Google to court

The company said it started the action yesterday.

# aviation - Sunday 25 October, 2015

Here's how to fly like a pro

Some good advice here.

# aviation - Tuesday 13 October, 2015

Russian-made missile took down MH17, killing 298 says official report

The official Dutch-led investigation seeks to end 15 months of speculation about why the Boeing 777 broke up in mid-air last year.

# aviation - Saturday 10 October, 2015

Take a look inside the 10 busiest airports in Europe

It was a big year for air travel in the region.

# aviation - Friday 25 September, 2015

Getting from Páirc Uí Chaoimh to Fenway Park has just got a whole lot easier

And Yankee Stadium isn’t too far behind either.

# aviation - Thursday 17 September, 2015

# aviation - Saturday 12 September, 2015

Two crew members on Tom Cruise film killed in plane crash

The pilot and owner of the plane were killed.

# aviation - Wednesday 9 September, 2015

The wet, awful summer was really good news for this man

Ryanair expect to make over €1 billion this year. The bad summer hasn’t hurt at all.

A British Airways plane leaving Las Vegas caught fire in the middle of take off Up In Smoke This post contains videos

A British Airways plane leaving Las Vegas caught fire in the middle of take off

All 159 passengers and 13 crew were evacuated.

# aviation - Sunday 6 September, 2015

How difficult is it to become a pilot for an Irish airline?

Fourteen months training, for a start.

# aviation - Tuesday 1 September, 2015

Ever wanted to fly an Aer Lingus plane? Now's your chance

It won’t cost you a penny, either.

# aviation - Monday 24 August, 2015

Nine more bodies could be found in English air show wreckage

The pilot remains in a critical condition in hospital.

# aviation - Friday 21 August, 2015

# aviation - Wednesday 19 August, 2015

Aer Lingus promises to treat you better when your flight is delayed

The UK’s aviation regulator had alleged the treatment of passengers by Aer Lingus, Jet2 and Wizz Air was in breach of consumer law.

# aviation - Thursday 13 August, 2015

An airline is to start weighing passengers before they board

Uzbekistan Airways is to weigh passengers, hand luggage and all.

# aviation - Tuesday 11 August, 2015

# aviation - Friday 7 August, 2015

The mystery of flight MH370 is looking no closer to being solved Hopes Dashed This post contains videos

The mystery of flight MH370 is looking no closer to being solved

A piece of the wing found off Reunion island hasn’t yielded many fresh clues.

# aviation - Saturday 1 August, 2015

Plane that 'belongs to Bin Laden family' crashes killing four people

It is being reported that Osama bin Laden’s sister and step mother are among those killed.

# aviation - Sunday 26 July, 2015

Three killed after plane crashes on housing estate

Police are investigating the cause of the crash.

# aviation - Tuesday 21 July, 2015

Here's why every flight you take is obsessively monitored

An engine alone, for example, is likely to have as many as 5,000 elements monitored every second.

# aviation - Friday 10 July, 2015

Ryanair has voted to sell its Aer Lingus shares

The decision paves the way for the sale to IAG to be completed.

# aviation - Wednesday 8 July, 2015

Two die after mid-air collision between fighter jet and plane

The plane crash occurred over South Carolina.

# aviation - Thursday 2 July, 2015

Pilot in plane crash that killed 43 "mistakenly turned off engine"

“Wow, pulled back wrong throttle.”

# aviation - Wednesday 1 July, 2015

Violent hailstorm leaves plane with a hole in its nose

Nobody was injured, though.

Air force plane crashes into city killing at least 140

No survivors are expected from on board the plane.

# aviation - Monday 29 June, 2015

Plane makes emergency landing at Shannon after fire alarm in cargo hold

There are no reports of injuries.

# aviation - Monday 8 June, 2015

Flight to Dublin forced to turn back - because of a bee

It was a Flybe flight. Seriously.

# aviation - Wednesday 27 May, 2015

# aviation - Sunday 24 May, 2015

This is what a US Air Force mission looks like through a GoPro camera

Do you feel the need? The need…for speed?

Man phones in bomb threat to delay girlfriend's plane, gets arrested

In case you needed to be told, don’t do this.

# aviation - Wednesday 29 April, 2015

# aviation - Tuesday 28 April, 2015

Is a plan to build a 16km jet fuel pipeline in Dublin crazy?

The plan would see a pipeline built from Dublin Port to Dublin Airport, along the route of the Malahide Road.

# aviation - Saturday 25 April, 2015

Plane lands safely after engine fails mid-flight

All 97 passengers were evacuated safely.

# aviation - Friday 17 April, 2015

'Hackers could use in-flight TVs to access cockpits'

A US government report warns against robotic control of planes.

# aviation - Friday 3 April, 2015

Another Germanwings pilot has given a powerful speech to comfort passengers

There was an Irishman on board who has shared the story.

# aviation - Thursday 2 April, 2015

'Why does everyone think Aer Lingus is a basket case that we've got to sell?' Sell Sell Sell This post contains videos

'Why does everyone think Aer Lingus is a basket case that we've got to sell?'

Timmy Dooley says “slick PR” has created an inevitability about the Aer Lingus sale.

# aviation - Wednesday 25 March, 2015

No obvious reasons why plane crashed into the Alps

French air traffic controllers, not the two pilots, issued a ‘mayday’ signal after the plane disappeared from their radar.

# aviation - Tuesday 17 March, 2015

VIDEO: Passenger tackled after claiming to have a bomb on plane

The man was restrained by passengers.

# aviation - Wednesday 4 March, 2015

Plane carrying 224 passengers skids off runway, ends up on grass

Nobody was injured, but witnesses said the cabin filled with smoke.