Advertisement
#Open journalism No news is bad news

Your contributions will help us continue to deliver the stories that are important to you

Support The Journal
Dublin: 10°C Friday 25 September 2020

#snapshot

# snapshot - Friday 14 August, 2020

From The42 Here is the trailer for the much-anticipated new Spurs documentary Snapshot This post contains videos

Here is the trailer for the much-anticipated new Spurs documentary

The programme goes behind the scenes with Jose Mourinho’s men.

# snapshot - Wednesday 26 June, 2019

8 rainbow-tinted photos of Dublin landmarks decorated for Pride

Dublin Pride Parade is taking place this Saturday.

# snapshot - Wednesday 19 June, 2019

7 illustrations of Cork city pubs by artist Lucia Moreno - plus the reasons to visit them

“The pubs are what got me hooked on Cork.”

# snapshot - Wednesday 12 June, 2019

# snapshot - Wednesday 5 June, 2019

'Remove the street from your feet': 6 photos of old boot-scrapers around Dublin city

(Plus, what a boot-scraper actually is.)

# snapshot - Wednesday 29 May, 2019

Shut it! 7 pieces of head-turning shop-shutter art around Dublin city

What goes up must come down.

# snapshot - Wednesday 22 May, 2019

6 eye-catching images of Dublin's 'vanishing' buildings by photographer David Jazay

“I felt that the city was once again changing fast.”

# snapshot - Wednesday 15 May, 2019

5 brilliant Irish illustrators to follow, as recommended by artist Conor Nolan

It’s time to upgrade your Instagram feed.

# snapshot - Wednesday 8 May, 2019

7 former homes of famous Irish writers that you'd easily walk right past

You’ve probably walked by Oscar Wilde’s house.

# snapshot - Wednesday 1 May, 2019

'There were a few mishaps along the way': 9 music-inspired illustrations by Irish artist Jacob Stack

Jacob Stack has drawn pieces for The Cranberries, The Gloaming and We Cut Corners.

# snapshot - Wednesday 24 April, 2019

# snapshot - Wednesday 17 April, 2019

Art attack: A tour of 9 pieces of impressive street art around Dublin city

Including a lifelike design in Temple Bar.

# snapshot - Wednesday 10 April, 2019

Lights out: 5 beautiful Irish lighthouses that you can actually sleep at for the night

All of these towers are still in active use as navigational aids.

# snapshot - Wednesday 3 April, 2019

5 Dublin bridges with interesting stories behind them (aside from the obvious)

You’ve probably gone over Bloody Bridge.

# snapshot - Wednesday 27 March, 2019

Tick tock: A guide to 11 of the lesser-known clocks around Dublin city

Lose track of time with these easily-missed clocks…

# snapshot - Wednesday 20 March, 2019

5 of Dublin's most iconic old-school shops - and where to find them*

*If they haven’t already been lost. Where else could you buy a pram and a plunger?

# snapshot - Wednesday 13 March, 2019

13 vintage photos from the Dublin St Patrick's Day parade

Ready to feel nostalgic?

# snapshot - Wednesday 6 March, 2019

5 of Dublin's hidden hand-painted ghost signs - and where to see them for yourself

Dublin has no shortage of ghost signs – but have you spotted them?

# snapshot - Wednesday 27 February, 2019

9 of Dublin's most photographed doors - and where to find them

Up your Instagram game with these colourful Dublin doors.

# snapshot - Wednesday 20 February, 2019

Great heights: 9 impressive shots of the tallest buildings in Ireland

There’s quite a few outside Dublin…

# snapshot - Wednesday 13 February, 2019

9 places to take magical photos of Irish night skies, according to a photographer

You’d be amazed by what you can capture.

# snapshot - Wednesday 6 February, 2019

Ireland from above: 12 jaw-dropping aerial shots from photographer Darren Houlihan

Take a trip around the country without leaving your seat.

# snapshot - Wednesday 30 January, 2019

11 illustrations by Irish artist Catherine Geaney to reignite your love of Gaeilge

How much do you *really* remember from school?

# snapshot - Wednesday 23 January, 2019

9 of the most magnificently dramatic castles around Ireland

Soak up some history at one of these impressive fortifications.

# snapshot - Wednesday 16 January, 2019

14 of the most eye-catching painted electrical boxes around Dublin

Including Bowie, Luke Kelly and a very Irish insult…

# snapshot - Wednesday 9 January, 2019

11 colourful illustrations by Irish artist Sarah Cunningham to brighten your day

They have meaningful messages behind them.

# snapshot - Wednesday 2 January, 2019

9 of the most breathtaking winter landscapes around Ireland

They’re worth the journey – promise.

# snapshot - Tuesday 25 December, 2018

Ireland in a snapshot: Donal Moloney reflects on a striking year in photography

Each week, photographer and filmmaker Donal Moloney shares a small piece of Ireland that reflects the bigger picture.

# snapshot - Wednesday 19 December, 2018

9 of the most enchanting fairy woods to explore around the country

Make a trip to some of the most magical spots in Ireland.

# snapshot - Thursday 13 December, 2018

9 of the most magical Christmas light displays around Ireland

They just get better every year.

# snapshot - Friday 7 December, 2018

11 of the loveliest Christmas shopfronts around the country

Fairy lights make everything better.

# snapshot - Tuesday 4 December, 2018

11 places to go for picture-perfect views of Dublin

Take a break from the madness in the run up to Christmas and soak up some sights of our fair city.

# snapshot - Wednesday 28 November, 2018

10 unique Irish prints that will be on display at this weekend's Winter Print Fair

From pink wafer biscuits to Liberty Hall.

# snapshot - Wednesday 21 November, 2018

12 uniquely brilliant tattoos by Irish artist Ryan Sean Kelly

Including a pint of Guinness and the Poolbeg Towers.

# snapshot - Wednesday 14 November, 2018

From wild horses to Elvis: A tour of Galway street art in 11 photos

A concise guide to the imagery around the City of Tribes.

# snapshot - Wednesday 7 November, 2018

Across the way: 11 of Ireland's most breathtaking bridges, in photos

Century-old stone bridges in Cork and contemporary designs in Dublin city.

# snapshot - Wednesday 31 October, 2018

# snapshot - Wednesday 24 October, 2018

9 of Ireland's most dramatic ruined churches, in photos

Is there anywhere more Halloween-appropriate than a ruined church? Perhaps not.

# snapshot - Wednesday 17 October, 2018

5 striking portraits of legendary musicians captured by Irish journalist BP Fallon

From Keith Richards to Debbie Harry.

# snapshot - Wednesday 10 October, 2018

Four artists, two weeks and the Wild Atlantic Way: Photos from an art installation in the great outdoors

Art fans headed to Lough Hyne in West Cork last month.

1 2 3 4 5