Advertisement
#Open journalism No news is bad news

Your contributions will help us continue to deliver the stories that are important to you

Support The Journal
Dublin: 10°C Tuesday 27 October 2020

#FSAI

# fsai - Friday 23 October, 2020

Numerous batches of cakes sold in Lidl recalled due to potential presence of metal pieces

The Food Safety Authority of Ireland announced the recalls today.

# fsai - Thursday 22 October, 2020

Dispute could mean 100,000 fewer turkeys available for Christmas dinners this year

The Irish Farmers Journal has said the dispute centres on who pays and manages the work of veterinarians who certify local abattoirs.

# fsai - Wednesday 21 October, 2020

Batches of White Mausu sauce recalled by FSAI due to presence of pesticide

240g jars of the brand’s Cashew Crunch sauce are potentially unsafe.

# fsai - Thursday 15 October, 2020

Certain batches of milk sold in Aldi, Spar and Mace being recalled due to bacteria presence

Retailers are requested to remove the implicated batches from sale.

# fsai - Thursday 8 October, 2020

Closure orders served on burrito bar and Chinese takeaway in September

The businesses were found to have breached food safety legislation.

# fsai - Monday 28 September, 2020

# fsai - Monday 21 September, 2020

Dunnes Stores recalls chicken products over listeria fears

Two chicken products may contain the bacteria Listeria monocytogenes.

# fsai - Tuesday 8 September, 2020

Dead insects and no hot water at basins: One food business was ordered to close in August

The FSAI also confirmed that one prohibition order was served on a business last month.

# fsai - Monday 10 August, 2020

Teddy's Ice Cream stand on Dún Laoghaire pier ordered to close storage unit after rodent droppings found

Teddy’s Ice Cream was one of five businesses issued with closure orders by the FSAI during July.

# fsai - Wednesday 5 August, 2020

CO OP bags of kale recalled due to possible presence of thistle

The bags may contain the prickly thistle plant.

# fsai - Monday 27 July, 2020

Uncle Ben's recalls batches of microwave rice due to possible presence of glass

A number of batches of brown basmati rice pouches are being recalled.

# fsai - Thursday 18 June, 2020

FSAI issues guidance on gin production following concerns that 'fake gin' is being sold

There are around 50 different gin brands produced in Ireland, according to the FSAI.

# fsai - Monday 8 June, 2020

Food inspectors discover unregistered business operating out of domestic dwelling in Co Westmeath

The Food Safety Authority ordered the closure of one food business in May.

# fsai - Saturday 2 May, 2020

Batch of True Natural Goodness seed packs recalled due presence of glass fragments

Batches with a best before date in the range 25/07/20 – 12/04/2021 are being recalled.

# fsai - Wednesday 8 April, 2020

Rodent infestation and 'filthy' floors: Three food businesses were ordered to close in March

The FSAI said that hospitals don’t need any extra pressure from unsafe food practices.

# fsai - Monday 9 March, 2020

'Significant' rodent activity and unidentifiable raw meats: Four food businesses ordered to shut last month

Four closure orders and two prohibitions were issued last month.

# fsai - Monday 24 February, 2020

# fsai - Tuesday 18 February, 2020

Iceland Vegetable Lasagne batch recalled due to possible presence of plastic

The Food Safety Authority of Ireland (FSAI) issued the recall today.

# fsai - Saturday 15 February, 2020

Iceland recalls a number of vegan products due to undeclared milk

The FSAI announced the recall on its website this afternoon.

# fsai - Monday 10 February, 2020

Rodent activity and poor cleaning practices: Five food businesses were ordered to shut last month

Some of the food premises posed “immediate danger” to the public, according to inspectors.

# fsai - Wednesday 5 February, 2020

Batches of John McCambridge gluten-free bread kits recalled due to possible presence of gluten

The products in question have best before dates of between 01/03/2020 to 17/01/2021 inclusive.

# fsai - Sunday 12 January, 2020

Here's where the dirtiest takeaways and restaurants were in Ireland last year

There were 124 enforcement orders issued by the FSAI last year, an increase on the previous year.

# fsai - Saturday 11 January, 2020

Packets of Doritos crisps recalled over undeclared soya

Members of the public are advised to return the crisps to the location they were purchased from.

# fsai - Friday 10 January, 2020

Tesco recalls own branded pesto products over undeclared peanut content

The products may not be safe for anyone who has a peanut allergy.

# fsai - Wednesday 8 January, 2020

Restaurant forced to close after pool of blood discovered in storage unit during safety inspection

Six food businesses were closed by the FSAI last month.

# fsai - Sunday 22 December, 2019

Sacla pestos recalled due to undeclared presence of peanuts

The products have been recalled by the FSAI.

# fsai - Tuesday 10 December, 2019

Warning issued over theft of container with consignment of beef from Northern Ireland firm

The FSAI said it is liaising with gardaí and other agencies over the meat theft.

# fsai - Monday 9 December, 2019

Dublin restaurant forced to close after live cockroaches were found on a container of nuts during food safety inspection

November was the worst-month ever for food safety with record numbers of FSAI orders.

# fsai - Friday 29 November, 2019

Bottles of hot sauce recalled over 'risk of explosion'

Customers are advised to immediately return the sauce.

# fsai - Friday 8 November, 2019

Grocery store closed after two dead rats found in dry goods storeroom

14 food businesses received closure orders from the Food Safety Authority of Ireland last month.

# fsai - Monday 4 November, 2019

Manufacturer blames 'third party' ingredient for large-scale houmous recall

Recall notices were issued for a number of houmous products in Ireland last week.

# fsai - Friday 1 November, 2019

Yet more batches of houmous have been recalled as salmonella scare continues

This is the fifth recall of houmous products in recent days.

# fsai - Wednesday 30 October, 2019

Recall of houmous extended to include batches sold in Supervalu, Centra and Iceland stores

The FSAI said the batches were recalled due to possible presence of salmonella.

# fsai - Tuesday 29 October, 2019

Houmous sold in Aldi and Lidl recalled due to presence of Salmonella

Consumers are being told not to consume the affected batches.

# fsai - Wednesday 23 October, 2019

FSAI issues third recall notice for own-brand bottled water over contamination fears

The latest batch relates to bottled water sold in Applegreen stores.

# fsai - Saturday 19 October, 2019

Batches of turkey dinosaurs recalled by Iceland as they may contain small metal pieces

The batches in question are dated best before November 2020.

# fsai - Wednesday 9 October, 2019

Dublin shop closed after dead rat found under deli counter

10 food businesses were ordered to partially or fully close last month.

# fsai - Thursday 26 September, 2019

'Unacceptable': 76 breaches of food safety rules found in major audit of sushi producers

The FSAI found that 90% of the businesses audited did not have adequate controls in place to safeguard human health.

# fsai - Thursday 19 September, 2019

Dublin Applegreen store temporarily closed down following rat sighting

The Food Safety Authority of Ireland has been made aware of the incident.

# fsai - Monday 9 September, 2019

Rodent droppings and arsenic in water: Six food businesses received closure orders in August

Businesses in Cork, Dublin, Galway, Kilkenny ad Monaghan were affected.

1 2 3 4 5