Advertisement
This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
OK
Dublin: 15 °C Tuesday 21 May, 2019

#Double Take

# double-take - Wednesday 15 May, 2019

Double Take: The surprising site of the first Irish cinema that was set up by James Joyce

It’s likely that you’ve been on the site of Ireland’s first cinema without knowing.

# double-take - Wednesday 8 May, 2019

# double-take - Wednesday 1 May, 2019

Double Take: The easy-to-miss 'pavement lights' that once had a very important function

“They’re an important part of the city.”

# double-take - Wednesday 24 April, 2019

Double Take: The fairy bush in Co Clare that moved a motorway

“Never shift a fairy bush.”

# double-take - Wednesday 17 April, 2019

Double Take: The humble Dublin house that was home to one of Ireland's greatest writers

“I took up writing because it’s easier than house painting.”

# double-take - Wednesday 10 April, 2019

Double Take: The handmade stone sign in Donegal that helped WWII pilots find their way

Before GPS and sat-nav, there were white stones.

# double-take - Wednesday 3 April, 2019

Double Take: The 1920s Irish telephone box that has stood the test of time

It’s the longest-standing original telephone box.

# double-take - Wednesday 27 March, 2019

Double Take: The 65ft-long whale skeleton on display in a West Cork park

Visitors are sure to have a *whale* of a time.

# double-take - Wednesday 20 March, 2019

# double-take - Wednesday 13 March, 2019

Double Take: The underground car park that was Ireland’s first theatre

Take a trip back in time to the 17th century…

# double-take - Wednesday 6 March, 2019

Double Take: The Dublin allotment that was once the Guinness family's vegetable garden

Saint Anne’s Park is laden with history.

# double-take - Wednesday 27 February, 2019

Double Take: The Dublin square that was once one of the city's most crowded graveyards

It’s beside one of Dublin city centre’s busiest streets.

# double-take - Wednesday 20 February, 2019

# double-take - Wednesday 13 February, 2019

# double-take - Wednesday 6 February, 2019

Double Take: This beloved Dublin diner sign was destined for the skip - but it's getting a second chance

The Metro Burger sign sat on the side of the Screen Cinema for decades.

# double-take - Wednesday 30 January, 2019

Double Take: The redundant Dublin plaques that once held a very important role

There are 33 of them around the capital.

# double-take - Wednesday 23 January, 2019

# double-take - Wednesday 16 January, 2019

Double Take: The uninhabited Mayo island once owned by John Lennon

Just Imagine buying your own island.

# double-take - Wednesday 9 January, 2019

Double Take: The blindfolded Dublin statues with a bloody backstory

‘Verdict: guilty. Death by being shot.’

# double-take - Wednesday 2 January, 2019

Double Take: The modest plaque dedicated to 'Ireland's answer to Mozart'

He was one of the greatest musicians of his time.

# double-take - Wednesday 19 December, 2018

Double Take: The golden angel in Cork whose trumpets were stolen

She’s known as the ‘goldie angel’, if you’re a local.

# double-take - Thursday 13 December, 2018

Double Take: The dying Dublin tree that's been transformed into a work of art

There’s something to discover from every angle.

# double-take - Friday 7 December, 2018

Double Take: The Dublin cemetery built in the year 5618

Yup, you read that right.

# double-take - Tuesday 4 December, 2018

Double Take: The humble Galway house that played a part in Irish literary history

Nora Barnacle was James Joyce’s wife and inspired many of his works.

# double-take - Wednesday 28 November, 2018

# double-take - Wednesday 21 November, 2018

Double Take: The 70ft statue in Dublin Bay that took 22 years to complete

The soaring statue is famed in Dollymount.

# double-take - Wednesday 14 November, 2018

Double Take: The 'Joker's Chair' in the heart of Dublin - and where it got its name

Take a seat and remember Ireland’s favourite fictional priest.

# double-take - Wednesday 7 November, 2018

Double Take: The plaque asking people to 'kick the wall' on Salthill prom

You can’t leave Galway before you kick the wall.

# double-take - Wednesday 31 October, 2018

Double Take: The bronze boy flying a paper plane in Dublin 6

Richard Crosbie grew up to fly air balloons, and the statue marks the site of his first expedition.

# double-take - Wednesday 24 October, 2018

Double Take: The hidden Dublin graveyard that's more than 1,000 years old

The many plots of Bully Acre’s incredible past.

# double-take - Wednesday 17 October, 2018

Double Take: The vibrant new mural celebrating Waterford's Viking heritage

Ireland’s oldest walled city got a colourful makeover.

# double-take - Wednesday 10 October, 2018

Double Take: The bench in St Stephen's Green celebrating a little-known married couple

The story of social reformers, Anna and Thomas Haslam.

# double-take - Wednesday 3 October, 2018

Double Take: The little-noticed laneway called Misery Hill in Dublin

The unlikely association with St James in Dublin’s Docklands.

# double-take - Wednesday 26 September, 2018

Double Take: The fairy trees dotted with rags, beads and dodies

Leave an object, make a wish.

# double-take - Wednesday 19 September, 2018

Double Take: The full-size, 50-feet-tall concrete replica of the Lourdes grotto in Dublin 8

The religious shrine found in an urban neighbourhood.

# double-take - Wednesday 12 September, 2018

Double Take: The drinking fountain for cows in Dublin 7

Haymarket Square was once the home of a thriving livestock market.

# double-take - Wednesday 5 September, 2018

Double Take: The eerie swamp statue found in a little-known Wicklow park

Meet the zombie-like granite figure that resides in a park designed for meditation.

# double-take - Wednesday 29 August, 2018

Double Take: The creepy Waterford structure that was once Ireland's longest bridge

The Old Red Iron Bridge was a central part of Ireland’s transport network in the early 1900s.

# double-take - Wednesday 22 August, 2018

Double Take: The Dublin 7 church with a crypt full of mummies down below

Meet the ‘Big Four’ at one of Dublin city’s more macabre landmarks, St Michan’s Church.

# double-take - Wednesday 15 August, 2018

Double Take: The mysterious African rhino that appeared overnight in a Dublin river

The life-size statue can be found in the River Dodder.

1 2 3