Readers like you keep news free for everyone.

More than 5,000 readers have already pitched in to keep free access to The Journal.

For the price of one cup of coffee each week you can help keep paywalls away.

Support us today
Not now
Wednesday 22 March 2023

# Champions

All time
# Champions
Teenager Kabia nets hat-trick as Shels lift First Division trophy after seven-goal win
The Reds lifted the First Division trophy at Tolka Park following a 7-0 victory over Limerick.
# Champions
Five-try Leinster overcome Connacht to be crowned Interpros champions again
Second-half tries from Hannah O’Connor and Judy Bobbett saw off a spirited Connacht display.
# Champions
Shels win in Drogheda to end six-year wait for return to top flight
10-man Drogheda pulled level in a dramatic final half hour, but Oscar Brennan tipped the balance back Shels’ way.
# Champions
In pics: Fans turn out in huge numbers for Tipperary's victorious homecoming celebrations
Around 30,000 supporters were at Semple Stadium last night to greet Liam Sheedy and his team.
# Champions
Quirke scores 1-7 as Cork overcome Monaghan to secure All-Ireland minor crown
Last year’s beaten finalists were playing in their sixth straight decider and showed their experience.
# Champions
'We talk about the snowflake generation. The dedication, the commitment - I'm proud to be a Cork man today'
Keith Ricken lamented his young players after Cork were crowned U20 All-Ireland champions yesterday.
# Champions
Spain crowned U19 European champions thanks to double from 19-year-old Valencia forward
Ferran Torres scored a goal in either half to help Spain secure the Uefa U19 European Championship.
# Champions
Bizarre deflected early goal enough for Algeria to claim AFCON glory in scrappy final
On the back foot for the majority of the game, Algeria defended their early lead against Senagal to lift the title for the second time.
# Champions
10-man Brazil triumph in Copa America final to end 12-year trophy wait
Tite’s side overcame Peru thanks to goals from Gabriel Jesus, Richarlison and Sousa Soares.
# Time to say goodbye
Ronan O'Gara's Crusaders record 10th Super Rugby title as Mo'unga lands four penalties
The former Ireland international departs as a back-to-back champion to take over at Top 14 side La Rochelle.
# Champions
Laois produce stunning second half display to capture Joe McDonagh Cup
Mark Kavanagh scored 12 points during today’s final at Croke Park.
# Champions
More glory for Limerick as they lift Munster crown with 12-point win over Tipperary
The Gaelic Grounds hosted today’s game.
# Race For Sam
How do the champions and beaten finalists shape up after the 2019 provincial action?
The Munster, Ulster and Leinster titles were handed out over the weekend.
# Champions
France winger Huget's two tries helps Toulouse beat Clermont to claim Top 14 title
Toulouse claimed their 20th French title in their first Top 14 final appearance since 2012.
# History makers
St Louis Blues go from worst NHL team to first-time Stanley Cup champions with win over Boston Bruins
Jordan Binnington made 32 stops as St Louis claimed their first ever title.
# Champions
Giroud comes back to haunt former club as Chelsea beat Arsenal to seal Europe League triumph
The Gunners missed out on Champions League qualification as a result.
# Champions
Valencia score twice in 13 minutes to stun Barcelona and win Copa del Rey for the first time since 2008
Goals from Kevin Gameiro and Rodrigo saw Valencia scupper Barca’s hopes of completing a domestic double.
# Champions
Leinster go back-to-back in the Pro14 as they edge Glasgow at Celtic Park
Leo Cullen’s men secured their sixth title in the competition in tough conditions in Glasgow.
# Future Star
'He gets the crowd off their feet' - 16-year-old Dembele impresses on Celtic debut
Hoops boss Neil Lennon heaped praise on the teenager after his second-half cameo at Parkhead yesterday.
# Champions
Ajax confirm double delight at De Graafschap after Euro heartbreak
Lasse Schone, Nicolas Tagliafico and Dusan Tadic were all on target as Ajax sealed Eredivisie glory.
# Champions
5 crucial wins in Manchester City's title triumph
Vincent Kompany’s goal against Leicester and other vital moments.
# Champions
Ex-Cork City striker on target as Avondale seal seventh FAI Intermediate Cup crown in 14 years
Mark O’Sullivan’s brilliant solo effort at the Aviva Stadium saw Avondale United overcome Crumlin United.
# gunners' glory
'Mam went to the hot press and got a red towel as a red carpet... a Liverpool towel though!'
Arsenal and Ireland defender Louise Quinn is revelling in Women’s Super League glory.
# Park the Bus
Comical scenes as Norwich City's promotion parade bus breaks down in city centre
Unlike on the pitch in the Championship this season, Norwich were forced to park the bus on Monday.
# O Captain My Captain
Ireland captain McCabe scores as Arsenal secure Women's Super League in front of record crowd
Ireland duo Katie McCabe and Louise Quinn were crowned champions on Sunday at the AMEX Stadium.
# Champions
Railway crowned AIL champions for the first time with victory over UL Bohs
Carroll’s second-half try hands Sandymount club their maiden title.
# Champions
Mbappe stars to kick off PSG's title celebrations against Monaco
Neymar also made his first appearance since January in their 3-1 win.
# Champions
Paris Saint-Germain win 6th Ligue 1 title in 7 seasons
The news was confirmed after second-placed Lille failed to win at Toulouse.
# Staying Put
Ronaldo '1,000%' committed for next season as Juventus claim eighth successive title
The 34-year-old is now the only player to secure league titles in England, Spain and Italy.
# Scudetto
Juventus secure eighth consecutive Italian title after seeing off Fiorentina
The Old Lady mathematically clinched the title on Saturday with a 2-1 victory in Turin.
# Champions
0-9 for Cork's O'Connell as UL claim All-Ireland Freshers hurling honours
UL prevailed in the all-Limerick final at the Gaelic Grounds.
# Champions
In Pictures: Relive Mayo's first league title success since 2001 with victory over Kerry
Could it be Mayo’s year?
# Champions
Brilliant Mayo deliver first national title in 18 years with power-packed dismissal of Kerry
James Horan’s side had four points to spare over Kerry in Croke Park.
# Champions
Galway turn on the style to claim first league title in four years against Kilkenny
The Westerners were two-point winners at Croke Park this afternoon.
# crows flying high
Clare's Considine helps Adelaide to emphatic AFLW Grand Final win in front of 53,000
The Kilmihil forward scored an early goal as the Crows eased past Carlton.
# 100% record
Derry complete flawless Division 4 campaign with league final victory over Leitrim
Shane McGuigan was the star as the Ulster side ran out four-point winners at Croke Park.
# Champions
Kingpins of schools hurling St Kieran's College secure 23rd Croke Cup crown in Tullamore
Eight points from the stick of Eoin Cody helped the Kilkenny side overcome Presentation College.
# what do you think of that
'We wanted something the whole town could get behind': Kieran Donaghy's Tralee Warriors crowned basketball champions
The Kerry ace led the charge as Tralee won the 2019 Basketball Ireland Men’s Super League.
# Champions
'There was never a second in that game they didn’t believe they were going to win'
Noel McNamara heaped praise on the character shown by his players as they came from behind to complete a Grand Slam triumph.
# Champions
Clinical Dundalk inflict first home defeat of campaign on Derry City
The Candy Stripes have won just once in their last 23 games against Dundalk.