Readers like you keep news free for everyone.

More than 5,000 readers have already pitched in to keep free access to The Journal.

For the price of one cup of coffee each week you can help keep paywalls away.

Support us today
Not now
Thursday 2 February 2023 Dublin: 10°C

# Awards

Last year
# Awards
Journal Media wins Mental Health Media Award for health system and eating disorders investigation
Noteworthy Editor Maria Delaney was awarded top prize in the Special Interest category.
# Athletics
McLaughlin-Levrone and Duplantis win World Athlete of the year awards
The American hurdler broke the world women’s 400m hurdles record twice while the Swedish pole vaulter won a second Diamond League trophy.
# award winners
Journal Media wins two UCD media awards for excellence in business journalism
Maria Delaney, Niall Sargent and Ian Curran were among the winners.
# top gong
Ireland's Josh van der Flier named World Rugby men's player of the year
Johnny Sexton, van der Flier, Tadhg Furlong, and Tadhg Beirne made the men’s dream team.
# nominees
The Journal and Noteworthy reporters nominated for Headline mental health media awards
The awards recognise Irish media professionals who are creating awareness and reducing stigma in mental health reporting.
Van der Flier and Jones win Rugby Writers player of the year awards
Mick Galwey and Phillip Matthews were inducted into the hall of fame.
Damian Casey honoured with Hurler of the Year award posthumously
And Westmeath’s Ronan O’Toole is the inaugural Tailteann Cup Footballer of the Year.
# turn the page
Irish Book Awards shortlist unveiled - is your favourite 2022 book on it? Best Irish Published Book of the Year is among the categories.
# up for the win
Irish author Claire Keegan nominated for prestigious Booker Prize
She’s nominated for her stunning novel Small Things Like These.
# Awards
The Journal and Noteworthy receive 15 nominations for Justice Media Awards
It received more nominations than any other publication.
# Cannes
'The hate of men will pass': Volodymyr Zelenskyy speech opens Cannes Film Festival
The leader received a standing ovation after delivering lines from the Charlie Chaplin film, the Great Dictator.
# top gong
Mack Hansen named player of the year at Connacht awards night
Matthew Devine is academy player of the year after helping the Ireland U20s to their Grand Slam.
# award winning
Investigative platform Noteworthy wins prestigious Mary Raftery Prize
Reporter Peter McGuire won for his investigation that found sexual violence victims were fighting roadblocks to justice.
# irish interest
Branagh scoops Best Screenplay Oscar at controversial night in Hollywood
The rest of the Irish nominees left empty-handed.
# Picture perfect
Here are the winners from the Press Photographer of the Year Awards
The awards took place over Zoom this evening.
# Awards
Kenneth Branagh's Belfast scoops six nominations in Baftas shortlist
Ruth Negga and Jessie Buckley are among Irish actors nominated in the awards.
# Awards
Lewandowski retains Fifa's top men's player as Tuchel named top coach
Wins for Thomas Tuchel, Emma Hayes and Edouard Mendy made it a successful night for Chelsea.
# Your Say
Poll: Have you been to the cinema lately?
The Golden Globe Awards were announced last night.
All time
# Awards
Ruth Negga and Belfast receive Golden Globe nominations
The nominations were announced this afternoon.
# recognised
Henshaw and Wall are the big winners at this year's Irish Rugby Players Awards
The virtual ceremony was held this afternoon.
# Awards
Two Journal Media reporters win Irish Red Cross Journalism Excellence Award 2021
Maria Delaney and Michelle Hennessy won for their series Tough Start which investigated challenges faced by Traveller children.
# good read
Keith Earls' 'Fight Or Flight' wins Sports Book of the Year
It overcame competition from five other nominees.
# Awards
Two Journal Media reporters shortlisted for Irish Red Cross Journalism Excellence Award 2021
Michelle Hennessy and Maria Delaney are nominated for their series Tough Start, which investigated challenges faced by Traveller children.
# an post ibas
Sally Rooney, Claire Keegan and Donal Skehan among Irish Book Awards nominees
The awards will take place at a ceremony on 23 November.
# recognition
Meath dominate as LGFA Players’ Player of the Year nominees revealed
Emma Duggan, Emma Troy and Vikki Wall have each been rewarded for their performances.
Normal People wins big at virtual IFTA awards, taking home nine honours
Animated movie Wolfwalkers won Best Film 2021.
# winner
Paul Mescal wins Bafta for performance as Connell in Normal People
The actor said he wanted to dedicate the award to his co-star Daisy Edgar-Jones.
# On the double
Man City star Phil Foden in contention for two PFA Player of the Year awards
The last player to win the men’s PFA double was Gareth Bale in 2013.
# Awards
Leinster quartet nominated for European Player of the Year
Robbie Henshaw, Tadhg Furlong, Josh van der Flier and Hugo Keenan make the 15-strong list.
# irish interest
Barry Keoghan, Niamh Algar and Wolfwalkers receive Bafta nominations
Nomadland and Rocks lead the nominations with seven apiece.
# Tinseltown
Golden Globes to launch pandemic-era Hollywood awards season
Normal People is nominated for Best Limited Series, with star Daisy Edgar-Jones also securing a nomination.
# Photography
Here are the winners from the Press Photographer of the Year Awards
Inpho photographer James Crombie has been announced as press photographer of the year.
# All-Stars
Teams of the 2020 Championships to be revealed and top ladies football stars honoured this month
TG4 will show a special awards programme on Saturday, 27 February.
# Awards
Saoirse Ronan and Jessie Buckley among Irish actors and films longlisted in this year's Bafta awards
The event will take place on 11 April.
# Awards
Brendan Gleeson, Wolfwalkers and Normal People receive Golden Globe nominations
The nominees were announced this afternoon during a virtual ceremony.
# Analysis
Player of the year so far? Worst signing? It's the Premier League of the half-season awards
We assess the good and bad of this year, as the campaign approaches its halfway point.
# Awards reporter wins Irish Red Cross Journalism Excellence Award 2020
Órla Ryan has travelled to Kenya and Lebanon in recent years to cover human rights issues.
# recognition
Shamrock Rovers trio among nominees for SWAI awards
Jack Byrne, Alan Mannus and Stephen Bradley have been acknowledged for their achievements.
# Awards night
Conor Murray, Brian O'Driscoll named on curious World Rugby Team of the Decade
There is no room for any English player on the men’s team, while Jamie Heaslip’s finish against Italy in 2016 was named Try of the Decade.
# leading lights
Limerick and Tyrone stars bag GAA Player of the Month awards for October
Recognition for Gearóid Hegarty and Conor McKenna after some impressive performances.