Advertisement
This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
OK
#Open journalism No news is bad news

Your contributions will help us continue to deliver the stories that are important to you

Support The Journal
Dublin: 14 °C Sunday 9 August, 2020

#Flying

# flying - Saturday 17 October, 2015

The 10 cushiest first-class airplane cabins in the world

We’re not used to this much leg room … or caviar.

# flying - Saturday 19 September, 2015

Concorde fans are so dedicated they could have it back in the skies in four years

A group of Concorde enthusiasts says it’s raised enough funds to buy one and get it flying again.

# flying - Thursday 17 September, 2015

# flying - Monday 14 September, 2015

From The Daily Edge Is clapping when the plane lands an Irish thing or does everyone do it? Big Buala Bos

# flying - Saturday 12 September, 2015

Man arrested for urinating on fellow passengers on plane

The suspect slept through most of the three-hour flight but woke up shortly before landing and began relieving himself.

# flying - Sunday 6 September, 2015

How difficult is it to become a pilot for an Irish airline?

Fourteen months training, for a start.

# flying - Saturday 22 August, 2015

Turns out flying a drone professionally is more complex than you think...

For one, you’ll need two people if you want to properly capture footage.

# flying - Wednesday 5 August, 2015

Ryanair claims to be first airline to fly 10 million international passengers in a month

The airline is pretty happy with its results for last month.

# flying - Saturday 1 August, 2015

You might actually WANT to have a long layover in these airports

A quick dip in a rooftop pool before the next flight? Don’t mind if we do…

# flying - Sunday 19 July, 2015

Here is the view you would have if you were a fighter pilot

The Bray Air Display is set to take place later today.

# flying - Monday 13 July, 2015

From The Daily Edge Rain got you feeling tempted to go on holidays? Here are 6 tips for booking a last-minute trip Leaving On A Jet Plane

Rain got you feeling tempted to go on holidays? Here are 6 tips for booking a last-minute trip

“We’re all going on a summer holiday…”

# flying - Friday 3 July, 2015

Delta plane makes emergency landing at Shannon Airport

All 392 passengers and crew safely disembarked the aircraft.

# flying - Wednesday 1 July, 2015

Violent hailstorm leaves plane with a hole in its nose

Nobody was injured, though.

# flying - Monday 29 June, 2015

Plane makes emergency landing at Shannon after fire alarm in cargo hold

There are no reports of injuries.

# flying - Sunday 28 June, 2015

From The Daily Edge A TV show convinced Paris Hilton she was going to die in a terrifying plane crash prank Evil

# flying - Thursday 11 June, 2015

You might want to buy some new airplane carry-on luggage...

… because the industry wants to standardise the size of bags to free up overhead space onboard. Great.

# flying - Sunday 24 May, 2015

This is what a US Air Force mission looks like through a GoPro camera

Do you feel the need? The need…for speed?

# flying - Wednesday 29 April, 2015

# flying - Saturday 28 March, 2015

Poll: Has the Germanwings disaster made you nervous about flying? Your Say This post contains a poll

Poll: Has the Germanwings disaster made you nervous about flying?

A Germanwings pilot made an emotional speech to nervous passengers this week to reassure them.

Germanwings pilot makes emotional speech in cabin to reassure passengers

The captain personally welcomed passengers onto the plane as they walked on and told them he would get them safely to their destination.

# flying - Friday 13 February, 2015

Ryanair flight diverted after drunk man strips and flexes his muscles

The plane landed in Denmark.

# flying - Saturday 3 January, 2015

Searchers find large parts of crashed AirAsia plane

There are hopes now that the remaining missing bodies will be recovered.

# flying - Thursday 1 January, 2015

First victim of doomed AirAsia flight buried

Nine bodies have been recovered so far.

# flying - Tuesday 30 December, 2014

Poll: Following this year's air disasters, are you more afraid to fly? Your Say This post contains a poll

Poll: Following this year's air disasters, are you more afraid to fly?

Do all of these incidents play on your mind?

# flying - Monday 29 December, 2014

# flying - Tuesday 16 December, 2014

Flight cancelled? You could be owed up to €600

Regulations mean that passengers are due compensation a sliding scale.

# flying - Saturday 13 December, 2014

Knock-on UK flight disruption following Heathrow computer meltdown

Some 38 flights have been cancelled, but there are no reports of Irish flight delays.

# flying - Friday 5 December, 2014

Aer Lingus's CEO is going to be the new boss of Malaysia Airlines

He previously occupied top positions at German flag carrier Lufthansa and the former Belgian carrier Sabena.

# flying - Friday 7 November, 2014

From The Daily Edge This six-second Vine is the ultimate in 'NOOOOOOOO' Noooooo

# flying - Monday 3 November, 2014

Being nicer is making more money for Ryanair

The company reckons they’ll make more money in the second half of the year as well.

# flying - Saturday 18 October, 2014

Why is aeroplane food so bad?

It’s more to do with science, than anything else.

# flying - Tuesday 7 October, 2014

Flying out of Dublin could be about to get cheaper

But Dublin Airport isn’t happy about the news.

# flying - Sunday 28 September, 2014

Why is airport security different around the world?

Shoes off? Laptops out? One shoe on? Laptop half in the bag, half out?

# flying - Saturday 27 September, 2014

This plane could replace 12,000 jets - and it finally took off this week

The planes are vastly more efficient, Airbus says.

# flying - Saturday 6 September, 2014

Italian strikes mean cancelled flights today

The strikes are by baggage handlers.

# flying - Friday 29 August, 2014

From The Daily Edge Even Brian O'Driscoll fears the Ryanair check-in fee Just Like Us

Even Brian O'Driscoll fears the Ryanair check-in fee

Ryanair: The Great Leveller.

Noisy flights are about to get a lot less noisy

Irish researchers are leading the way on this one.

# flying - Tuesday 26 August, 2014

Iceland volcano hit by most powerful earthquake since tremors began

There is currently an orange alert in place indicating an increased potential of an eruption.

# flying - Wednesday 6 August, 2014

Rats On A Plane: Rodent infestation grounds Indian aircraft

“I have HAD it with these rats,” is what Samuel L Jackson might have said if he had been on the flight.

# flying - Sunday 27 July, 2014

From The Daily Edge Man kicked off flight for tweeting about 'rude' airline staff Grounded

Man kicked off flight for tweeting about 'rude' airline staff

Be careful… you’re being watched.