This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
#Open journalism No news is bad news

Your contributions will help us continue to deliver the stories that are important to you

Support The Journal
Dublin: 14 °C Saturday 8 August, 2020


# elected - Monday 29 June, 2020

Fianna Fáil Senator Mark Daly has been elected Cathaoirleach of Seanad Éireann

Daly is succeeding Senator Dennis O’Donovan in the role.

# elected - Saturday 27 June, 2020

'We can overcome the toughest challenges': Martin's speech to the Dáil after being elected Taoiseach

Martin said helping society and the economy to recover will be at the centre of everything the new government does.

# elected - Tuesday 11 February, 2020

Here is a complete list of all the TDs elected to the 33rd Dáil

There are 160 seats across 39 constituencies. All have now been filled.

# elected - Saturday 30 November, 2019

By-election results: Here is a list of your four new TDs

Fianna Fáil have claimed two seats and it’s one each for Sinn Féin and the Greens.

# elected - Friday 3 August, 2018

Zimbabwe opposition leader lashes 'unverified fake results' as Zanu-PF claim victory

Robert Mugabe’s successor Emmerson Mnangagwa has been declared winner of the historic election.

# elected - Thursday 9 March, 2017

From The42 Former Galway captain David Collins is the new president of the GPA Elected

Former Galway captain David Collins is the new president of the GPA

The 2012 All-Star and former GPA secretary has been appointed to replace Dermot Earley.

# elected - Thursday 22 December, 2016

THE WINNERS: These are all the TDs that have been elected

It’s been a long weekend and these lads and ladies have already passed the post.

# elected - Wednesday 9 November, 2016

Donald Trump has been elected President of the United States

Trump secured victory over Democratic candidate Hillary Clinton by claiming enough states to reach over the crucial 270 electoral college vote mark.

# elected - Wednesday 11 May, 2016

From The42 Remedying global calendar issue the biggest challenge for Beaumont Rugby's Future

Remedying global calendar issue the biggest challenge for Beaumont

New Zealand Rugby have threatened to break away after the current agreement ends in 2019.

# elected - Thursday 17 December, 2015

North's new First Minister survived an IRA bombing

Arlene Foster has been named as DUP leader, and will take over the top job in January.

# elected - Friday 6 June, 2014

Christy Burke elected as Dublin's Lord Mayor

He will serve for 12 months after which a Sinn Féin Councillor is expected to take over.

# elected - Monday 26 May, 2014

Confirmed: Nessa Childers and Brian Hayes join Lynn Boylan in Europe as Ryan's recount effort fails

The counting and the recounting is all done at the RDS as Green Party leader Eamon Ryan misses out on a seat.

# elected - Saturday 24 May, 2014

Green shoots: First Green Party councillor elected in Dublin

Patrick Costello topped the poll in Rathgar- Rathmines

# elected - Sunday 30 June, 2013

New Labour mayor of South Dublin County will "continue to be outspoken"

A number of Labour councillors have left the party, but new Mayor Dermot Looney said he intends to stay with the party – even if his views are sometimes ‘left field’.

# elected - Sunday 24 February, 2013

First female president of Ógra Fianna Fáil elected

Sligo accountant Kate Feeney promised to strengthen the voice of the younger party leaders.

# elected - Sunday 30 December, 2012

Pics, video: Suffragette movement 100 years ago Suffragettes This post contains images

Pics, video: Suffragette movement 100 years ago

In 1912, the suffragettes were engaged in an increasingly confrontational campaign to secure voting rights for women which included bomb attacks and hunger strikes.

# elected - Monday 25 June, 2012

New mayors of Dublin, Galway, Waterford and Limerick elected

The two mayors, and one Lord Mayor, were elected this evening, with Fine Gael councillor Naoise Ó Múirí (pictured) elected in Dublin.

# elected - Saturday 5 May, 2012

From The Daily Edge Goldie Lookin' Chain member elected Labour councillor in Wales Career Change